My First Kiss Went A Little Like This…

 First kisses are some of the best, weirdest, most awkward moments of our lives – and they happen at all different points during the process of growing up. Think you had a ridiculous first kiss? Check out this collection of first kiss stories: 

“My first kiss was with an awkward high school boyfriend when I was 15. We had just taken a “romantic” walk together in the woods, and were standing under a canopy of trees by a very busy road. I remember closing my eyes and puckering, hoping that I would find his mouth without being able to see. The kiss was perfect. It was the grossest, wettest, slimiest, loudest experience I had ever had. I remember letting his saliva dry on my face (gross… I know) because it made me feel adult (which doesn’t make any sense… I blame hormones). I called my best friend immediately afterwards to celebrate.”

"It was the grossest, wettest, slimiest, loudest experience I had ever had."

“It was the grossest, wettest, slimiest, loudest experience I had ever had.”

“My first boyfriend and I started going out in 7th grade. We didn’t go to the same school, and we only really ever saw each other at bar/bat mitzvahs since we were too shy to ever really go out on dates. It has been at least a few months and we had never kissed since there was no way I was going to make the first move, and he was just too shy. So, during one of the bar mitzvahs we were both at, we were dancing when my best friend who was also great friends with my boyfriend came up to us and rammed our faces together. It was super funny, and we turned bright red. I was surprised our braces didn’t link together….. It was the epitome of middle school puppy romance, and I laugh every time someone asks me about it!”

"It was the epitome of middle school puppy romance..."

“It was the epitome of middle school puppy romance…”

“Ugh, it was gross. Wet and drunk and I didn’t even know his name first. I was 19.”

“Miami beach boardwalk. 1996. I was 12, so was she. Long walk, sit down on wood bench overlooking beach and ocean. She looks into my eyes, smiles, and I lean in. Our lips meet… and stay there. “No tongue that’s gross” she tells me. So it’s this weird, kinda prolonged no-tongue-face-sucking awkward French kiss. I’m reminded of that Jim Carrey Dumb and Dumber fantasy scene where he’s practically sucking Lauren Holly’s face off and I start laughing. She pulls her head back and tells me I “have no etiquette.” Gets up off of me and we continue our walk. She’s a lesbian now. True story.”

"She pulls her head back and tells me I 'have no etiquette.'"

“She pulls her head back and tells me I ‘have no etiquette.'”

“He walked me home. We stood outside the door to my floor. I didn’t like him, but I felt like we should probably kiss. So I kissed him.” (Age: 18)

“I’m 19 now. My first kiss was when I was 15. It was in high school, on school grounds, after dismissal. I had just started going out with a guy that day or the previous day, and when we said bye he leaned in for a kiss. I kind of missed his mouth and it was a half cheek-half mouth kind of kiss; a short one too. I had been so worried leading up to that moment that I freaked out when it happened and awkwardly walked away immediately after. It took some practice for me to get the hang of kissing. Needless to say, terrible first kiss and definitely not the environment I expected it to be in!”

“So I was 14 and my house is only a few blocks from my high school and my boyfriend and I decided to go my place during lunch. We were hanging out on my bed with my dog, I was lying perpendicular to him with my head on his chest and then all of a sudden it just happened. Our lips touched. I don’t remember all that much besides that there was a lot of unnecessary tongue action. They were just flailing about because we knew tongues were supposed to be involved in the equation just didn’t really know how at that particular inexperienced moment. And then my dog started scratching me for attention and that was it. My first kiss.”

"I don't remember all that much besides that there was a lot of unnecessary tongue action."

“I don’t remember all that much besides that there was a lot of unnecessary tongue action.”

“My first kiss was with my long distance girlfriend during the summer after my junior year of high school. I was sixteen. I had told all of my friends that I had kissed exactly one girl before that, but that wasn’t true. I felt the incredible need to lie to all of those friends, as a part of me wasn’t exactly sure I’d actually ever kiss someone. But I digress. It was a hot July day in Manhattan, and I asked to leave work early so I could meet my then girlfriend before we went to dinner. I hadn’t seen her in a few months, and we decided to start dating while we were apart (a decision I don’t necessarily regret, but one I see as inherently stupid), so the excitement had been building up inside of me for a few weeks and all of the waiting was finally going to come to an end. We met up on the lower east side and took a walk so awkward that could have only come from our collective inability to communicate with one another about anything of any real importance. At some point, our aimless walk landed us in one of Manhattan’s many parks. We sat down on a bench, in plain view for the world to see, and quickly silenced ourselves. I then looked at her and said: “Can you kiss me?” I didn’t think I’d have had enough courage to initiate the actual movement myself, so I guess words were the next best thing. She nodded and leaned in close. Thus began a relatively aggressive high school make out session in the middle of the afternoon in a fairly crowded Manhattan park on the lower east side. Am I proud of it? To be honest, a little. I didn’t have to lie anymore, at least not in the same way. And I’ll always have that park bench, and I’ll always remember my short-lived relationship with the first girl I kissed.”

"At some point, our aimless walk landed us in one of Manhattan’s many parks."

“At some point, our aimless walk landed us in one of Manhattan’s many parks.”

“His name was Josh. We were in eighth grade. He invited me to go to the fireworks with him and his family. We spent a majority of the night lying on a blanket in the grass on our backs, hands entwined, staring up at the stars and fireworks. His parents and brother were on the blanket next to us, but I failed to notice. Once the fireworks were over, we walked back to the car, hand-in-hand, and climbed in. He was on the left side, I was in the middle, and his younger brother was on the right. He leaned in, but would not kiss me. I called him a chicken, smiling at him in the dark. I gathered up the courage, leaned in, and planted one on his lips. It would have been perfect if I hadn’t gone “mwahhh” as I did it…”

“It was February of my sophomore year of high school, and my self confidence was at an all-time low. I had just been rejected by a freshman that I asked to go on a date with me. At the time, I was in the band for a musical we were putting on, and my friend told me that one of the girls in the dance crew had a crush on me. So I asked her to go see a movie with me. I couldn’t tell y0u what movie it was, I was so nervous from just holding her hand. I was so conscious of how sweaty my hands were, and I wasn’t sure if she really liked me, so I just held her hand the whole movie. Afterward, I walked her to the train, and finally got up the nerve to kiss her right before she headed down into the station. It was clumsy, but uplifting. That night, she texted me and said that she thought I didn’t like her, because I didn’t kiss her the whole time. I confessed my nerves, which she thought was adorable. And then she became my girlfriend for the next two years.”

"I walked her to the train, and finally got up the nerve to kiss her right before she headed down into the station. It was clumsy, but uplifting."

“I walked her to the train, and finally got up the nerve to kiss her right before she headed down into the station. It was clumsy, but uplifting.”

Leave a Reply

