Why We Shouldn’t Avoid The Homeless

I agree wholeheartedly. Ignoring homeless people on the street, even if you have absolutely nothing, is cruel – it is saying that you don’t acknowledge that they are people at all. Whether or not you have something to give to them, at least look them in the eyes and show them that you see them and that no matter what, they still deserve to be treated like a human being.

Is This Why I'm Still Single?

I’m the type of guy who goes out of his way to avoid homeless people. If I see one within 30 feet of me my first instinct is to cross over to the other side of the street or walk on the outside of my friends so I’m less accessible. And when one asks me for change, I generally mutter something about not having money (even though I do) before walking away quickly. In some rare cases, I do give the person a dollar or two, but that is only if the person is friendly and seems less likely to try and gnaw my face off.

I’m aware of the fact that I needn’t feel guilty about doing any of this. Pretending homeless people don’t exist has become the social norm. No one thinks any less of me whenever I refuse to acknowledge a homeless person’s plea or give them…

View original post 729 more words

Leave a Reply

