Things that I’m Remembering Actually Exist in America

So I’ve been back in the U.S. of A. for an entire week now and I’m definitely experiencing some reverse culture shock. Since my friends seem to be getting bored of me saying “Oh my god, I forgot _____ was a thing in America! In South Africa…….,” I figured I’d share my thoughts with all you wonderful people out there in the blogosphere. Here is my list of things I totally forgot existed in America and am now having to come to terms with:

1. Outlets everywhere. To be fair, I knew this was something I was missing, but it’s still so nice to get to experience the surplus of outlets.

2. Really big TVs. We have huge-ass TVs here and it’s ridiculous and wonderful.

3. Fat people. I’m sorry, but it’s true. Other countries just don’t compare when it comes to obesity. And as nice as the woman next to me on the plane was, it still made me ashamed for America when she came back from the bathroom out of breath from the walk.

4. Giant cars. I forgot what it was like for most cars to be taller than me. It’s kind of terrifying, but I’m never going to complain about big parking spots.

5. Sale sections. I missed sale sections of stores more than I realized – I just can’t bring myself to buy full-priced things so sales are essential to my life. Not joking.

6. Successful TV jingles.

7. Really terrible car and furniture store commercials (Yeah, these two don’t need explanations. You all know what I’m talking about).

8. Water at restaurants. It is so nice to not have to ask for tap water. This is what the life of luxury looks like.

 

As much as I’m enjoying being home, I’m really not a fan of the prices here. I’m denying that I actually have to pay for things by not taking any cash out and continuing to only have South African rand in my wallet. Whatever. Baby steps.

One thought on “Things that I’m Remembering Actually Exist in America

Leave a Reply

