First Impressions Aren’t Everything

Check out my Garden Route trip around the southern coast of South Africa!

You're Off to Great Places

Cape Town 5 072 Cape Town 5 069

I hopped off the bus at Wild Spirit, with a bag and a couple rand, welcome to the land of HIPPIES. A lot of damn hippies. With my backpack slung over my shoulder and my friend in tow, I got off the Baz Bus to a gravel road, some wooden sculptures, and chickens running around. I felt like I had been transported 10,000 miles back to Eugene, Oregon. I was horrified. White girls with dread locks and guys wearing shawls upon shawls walked barefoot around the grounds and bugs buzzed around my ears. Nope. This is NOT what I signed up for. Still blinking in astonishment that I wasn’t in fact at the Oregon Country Fair, my one chance of a getaway bumped away down the road – the bus was gone. I looked at my friend, hoping to find some agreement in her face, but instead, what…

View original post 701 more words

Leave a Reply

