Being Doubly in Love

Until about three weeks ago, I’d never been in love. I’ve loved people, sure, but I’ve never been in love. I love my family and my best friends, I love the camp I work at, that kind of stuff. But now, now I’m in love twice – I’m in love with a place and a person. First off, I’m in love with Cape Town, South Africa, where I’m studying abroad. As my facebook friends know, I’m having a fantastic time, and not exactly being subtle about it. The weather is amazing, I’ve met some really cool people, and this is by far the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. I haven’t started classes yet, so I’ve had a lot of time to explore – last week we had no obligations with orientation or anything like that, so some friends and I traveled the garden route and stayed in hostels along the way. We met some really awesome people from all over the world and did a ton of fun, adrenaline-filled things (shark diving, bungee jumping, you get the idea). And while I’ve only been here a few weeks, it just feels right; I can’t imagine another place I’d rather be right now.

Well, I can’t imagine another place I’d rather be except in the arms of my love. Never having been in love before, I didn’t know how overwhelming it would feel – he’s the only person I can think about and the only person I want to think about. It was kind of a whirlwind romance and it is crazy and illogical and entirely too complicated to explain, but none of that seems to matter. He is wonderful and perfect and makes me feel like I am the only person in the whole world who matters. I’m not going to write any more mushy things because that’ll get kind of annoying, but anyways. You get the point.

So, what’s the problem, you might ask? Well, the person I love is not in the place I love. Thus, my head and my heart are both in two different places – New York and Cape Town. And while it’s great to be so happy because of where I am and who I love, it’s also awful. It’s almost impossible to get the internet to work for long enough to contact people (sorry Mom and Dad), so talking to him has been a mess of viber, facebook chat, iMessaging, and paying for international calling on my African burner phone. It’s totally worth it, but it hasn’t exactly been easy. As TSwift so eloquently put, “we’re happy, free, confused, and lonely at the same time… it’s miserable and magical.” So as much as it hurts sometimes to know that the man I love is 7,867 miles away (or a $600 one-way flight), I know there’s no other situation where I’d be as happy as I am now.

3 thoughts on “Being Doubly in Love

Leave a Reply

