Letterpress

Letterpress - Press

At the beginning of the summer, I took a one week class on letterpress. I didn’t think I would like the class because, well, it was a class. Over the summer. From 9-5. Every day for a week. This was supposed to be summer – I wanted to sleep in, hang out with my friends, basically just not take an art class. Boy was I surprised when I ended up loving it. I often stayed until 7 or 8pm working on projects and I was disappointed when the week was over. Letterpress may be my favorite art form – the press itself is beautiful, and the medium is fonts, letters, words, sentences. Letterpress feels like a mix between art, history, and English; I love it. Here are some of the things I made in my class:
Letterpress - Name

This was one of the first things I made – I liked the circus-y feeling of the font. The assignment for this first project was just to put our names on the press and test it out.

Letterpress - Words

This is one of my favorite quotes from Hamlet that is never given enough credit. I liked putting quotes on my posters, and this one felt, as my friend would say, very meta. This is a poster in which the words that I chose to use were just “words.”

Letterpress - Home

This is a fun saying that I found on pinterest that is now hanging in my apartment at school.

Letterpress - Metal Type

This is the tray that I set up my metal type on to make business cards. This was undoubtedly the most tedious part of the entire week, but I knew the outcome would be worth it. (I’m not sharing what the business cards look like on here because I like them too much – I’m saving them to give to people who really deserve them).

Letterpress - Infinity

Buzz Lightyear was spot-on with this quote-worthy saying; they are poster-worthy words to live by.

Letterpress - Care

This is one of my favorite quotes of all time. It is a Winnie the Pooh quote and this poster hangs above my bed. Whenever I look at this poster it reminds me that it’s okay to care too much, it’s okay to love, it’s okay to wear your heart on your sleeve; it also reminds me that not everyone is like this, it isn’t necessary to care about everything all the time, and that there are some things not worth caring about – some things are okay to let go of.

Leave a Reply

