The 10 Best Moments of the National Dog Show

Dog Show - Title

(aka Where to find the weirdest-looking dogs and the frumpiest-looking people ever)

What’s better than watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and then forgetting to change the channel and being utterly confused about the strange things that walk across the stage that they call dogs? Nothing, amiright? That’s what I thought. Also, I think they may have just called it a sporting event. Can you hear me snorting with laughter? Here are the 10 best moments from the National Dog Show!

1. We’ll start by talking about how they frequently reference the Kennel Club, and every time, without fail, I hear “kettle corn.”

Dog Show - Kennel Club Dog Show - Kettle Corn

2. Way too many of the owners look like their dogs (and yes, the people look like the dogs – because the dogs are supposed to look like that. The people aren’t).

101 Dalmatians understands my point.

101 Dalmatians illustrates my point.

3. Most of the dogs don’t actually look like dogs. Many of them should be in the “rat on a string” category.

What is this? This is not a dog. This is just a sure sign that Americans have too much time on their hands.

What is this? This is not a dog. This is just a sure sign that Americans have too much time on their hands.

4. And if they’re not rat-like, they look like horses.

I could ride that dog.

I could ride that dog.

5. Or a mop.

Where's my floor cleaner spray? Think you could just roll around a little bit for me now?

Where’s my floor cleaner spray? Think you could just roll around a little bit for me now?

6. Or… I don’t even know.

And then there's this. Which is just gross.

And then there’s this. Which is just gross.

7. You know that this dog is REALLY enjoying being poked and prodded.

Dog Show - GroomingI promise, all it really wants to do is this:

Dog Show - Lazy8. The handlers really take the cake, though. They are by far the most well-dressed people out there (I’m also 90% sure they put the dog treats in their mouths… which is really unacceptable).

Dog Show - Pink Suit

This one actually knows what color is. That’s throwing me for a loop.

9. Sometimes they have dogs that actually look like they’re supposed to.

Hey! That one's a dog!

Hey! That one’s a dog!

That one too!

That one too!

And this one!

And this one!

(ignore the brown monstrosity above the silver cake-like horror)

10. And, finally, this “dog.”

Do you really think you're fooling anyone? We all know you're just a mini-yeti.

Do you really think you’re fooling anyone? We all know you’re just a mini-yeti.

You're not convincing anyone.

You’re not convincing anyone.

Although, you could probably pass for Ludo from Labyrinth...

Although, you could probably pass for Ludo from Labyrinth…

According to one of the announcers, “This is what you got HD television for!” Umm… nope.

At the end of the day, though, they’re all winners… jk, they’re just dogs who pranced around in a circle. 

Especially this one, because it looks like the trophy.

Especially this one, because it looks like the trophy.

2 thoughts on “The 10 Best Moments of the National Dog Show

  1. Ludmilla says:

    I missed the parade and the dog show, but I’m glad I didn’t miss this – hilarious! How quickly did you put this together? And did you ever have a dog of your own? I sympathize with some of these wacky dog owners – and their dogs – there is madcap madness in relationships of all sorts! Happy Thanksgiving to you and all your family – human or otherwise!

    • ipaulesbronet says:

      Ludmilla, thanks for reading! I put this together during the dog show, using pictures from previous years. I’ve never had a dog, but I do love them and my good friend has show dogs, so I say all of this very lovingly!

Leave a Reply

